2 Apartments for Rent, Vienna

$ 750/month

Room in House
4 Bedrooms

2 Bedroom Available
Private Bedroom

2 Bathroom
Shared

Furnished Rental
Unfurnished Room

Description

We have 2 unfurnished rooms for rent in a standalone house. Upstairs room is smaller - Nice closet, hardwood floors, and good light. We are looking for a person to move in May 24th, but can be flexible.
Downstairs room (basement) is larger (2/3rds of main level), has private bathroom, and 2 windows. Ive seen this room split into an office space and bedroom space. Move-in 6/21.
~ About the House/Location ~
Rent is $500 per month for the upstairs room, and 750 downstairs, and utilities are around $75-$90 depending on the season (water and trash is billed every 3 months, so it fluctuates). This is a single-family home in a nice neighborhood, just about one mile from the Vienna metro station (an easy 20-minute walk through the park). We have an ever-expanding garden in the backyard with berry bushes, beds for planting, and a bonfire pit, and enjoy having group meals or game nights.

We have onsite laundry, a wood fireplace, a kitchen with a walk-in pantry, dishwasher, and gas stove. The house has hardwood floors too (a little creaky in spots) and we keep the house pretty clean. I have more photos of the house if you contact us via email.

~ About the House Community~
We like to create a good group dynamic by sharing meals and doing group projects. There are also chores that each housemate is responsible for weekly to keep the place nice - our goal is to have a community space with friends that we live with since were all transplants to the area. Building community is important to us, so if youre looking for a place to sleep at night/store your stuff, this isnt the right fit.

We dont throw raging parties, but we do like to have backyard BBQing, bonfiring, or going on nature hikes. We are generally interested in sustainable/frugal living including recycling, composting, using rainwater for the garden, keeping expenses low, etc. I have been in this house for about 8 years, and so we have good relationships with our neighbors and landlord (who lives a few blocks away).

~ About Us ~
There are 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms in the house. The other upstairs roommates are myself (female, 30s, professional therapist) and my roommate (female, 30s, professional archeologist) and her 20ish lb, 12-year-old Shiba Inu, who the Best Girl and very polite to humans but not friendly to other dogs.
We enjoy cooking/baking, gardening, hiking, house projects, Indie music, wine, and the "crunchy" lifestyle. Were looking for someone who is relaxed, interested in building a community with us, likes gardening/house projects (or at least tolerates roommates who get into projects!), is interested in keeping costs low, and is able to talk through discontents when they happen.

~~~ About You ~~~
We are hoping to bring in for upstairs and or a couple for downstairs (any gender) who has a secure income, is interested in gardening, having a community with your housemates, sustainable living, and keeping a clean house. We cannot accept anyone with a cat or dog right now, but small mammals (bunnies, guineas, etc) might work out.

Due to the large volume of responses, we wont respond to any emails that dont provide basic personal info: What do you do for work, fun, food, relaxation? What are you passionate about? Do you have any useful or whimsical skills? How do you see yourself fitting in here?

Please be aware that we take finding a housemate seriously, and consider the email your resume. It is followed by an in-person interview, where if think youre a good fit we will invite you to come to see the house, us, and garden over a meal :)

Thanks for your interest, and we look forward to hearing from you!

Property Details

Rental
Listing ID 4669993
Room in House
Furnished Rental
Shared Bathroom  
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathroom
2 Bedroom Available
Private Bedroom  
Total Sq ft: ~1000
Female 
Rent
$ 750/month
1 Month Security Deposit
No Rental Rebate 
Location
,
Tapawingo Rd SW
Lease
Start: 05/24/2021 (flexible)
Lease Term: Minimum 6 Months
Renew: Yes
Summer: No    Holiday: No  
More Rentals
New Room Search
View Similar Rooms
Rooms in Vienna
Rooms in 22180
Rooms from this Sublease

Amenities

  • Parking
  • High Speed internet
  • Pets OK
  • acAir conditioning
  • laundryLaundry in building
Not Included
  • Cable
  • Credit Application
  • Handicapped access
  • Doorman
  • Smoker OK
  • Elevator
  • Utilities included
  • Broker fee

Reviews